IRWIN is an internationally acclaimed group from Ljubljana, Slovenia, which was established in 1983 and consists of 5 artists: Dusan Mandic, Miran Mohar, Andrej Savski, Roman Uranjek and Bort Vogelnik. The Irwin group is part of the Neue Slowenische Kunst (NSK) movement along with the music group Laibach, the performance group Scipion Nasice Sisters Theter and the design section Novi kolektivizem (NK). Two different approaches may be observed in the group in terms of their work. The first one is the emphasis that they place on collective group working rather than favoring the individuality of the artist. This is why the majority of the projects hold the groups name Irwin as the signature. The second approach of the groups work is the so-called retro-principle that is used. Here works become a collage of quotations and allusions to various sources such as iconography, past symbols and philosophical ideas. Irwin has so far realized about 150 projects and solo exhibitions in Europe, Russia and the USA. Irwin’s work is also included in 14 important art collections around the world such as the collection of the Museum of Modern Art MoMA in New York, Kunsthalle zu Kiel in Kiel, Museum in Klosterneuburg as well as the Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb in Zagreb, Museum of Contemporary Art Skopje in Skopje, and Moderna galerija in Ljubljana. In 1999, Irwin has collaborated with the famous Serbian artists Marina Abramović, and created a series of three identical photographs titled “Namepickers”, each photograph is signed by one of the participating artists (Marina Abramovic, Bojan Bercelj and Irwin). In 2004 Irwin received the most important visual arts award in Slovenia called the Rihard Jakopic Award.